Home Confederation Centre of the Arts Welcomes New Board Member

Confederation Centre of the Arts Welcomes New Board Member

P.E.I.’s Kateri Coade joins board executive

The Fathers of Confederation Buildings Trust, known as Confederation Centre of the Arts (CCOA) has announced the appointment of Kateri Coade to its board of directors.

Robert Sear, CCOA board chairman, says the organization is delighted to have Coade join the board. “Kateri brings an expertise in social work and community engagement as well as years of experience educating others about Mi’kmaq cultures, traditions, and ways of life,” he remarks. “We are pleased to welcome her and are sure she will help strengthen Confederation Centre of the Arts as it continues to grow its reach and become accessible to more people.”

Coade is a member of the Abegweit First Nation and currently resides in Rocky Point with her husband and two daughters. She works for Abegweit First Nation as the director of social development programs and is a strong voice for Mi’kmaq people living on P.E.I. Her robust network and friendships in the Mi’kmaq community has led to increased opportunities for performers to present and share Mi’kmaq songs and traditional dancing at various events.

The new board member holds her Bachelor of Arts in Political Science from UPEI, and her Bachelor of Social Work and her Master’s in Social Work from Dalhousie.

She currently volunteers on other boards including the P.E.I. Rape and Sexual Assault Board of Directors; the P.E.I. 2023 Canada Games Bid/Host Committee; the MCPEI Indigenous Justice Committee; the Abegweit First Nation Mental Wellness Committee; and various other committees related to front-line social work and the First Nations population.

Coade joins returning executive members Bob Sear, chair; Alex MacBeath, vice-chair; Lori Pendleton, secretary-treasurer; Margo Thompson; and Pamela Williams.

Continuing national directors for CCOA include: Arlene Perly Rae, ON; Dan Mathieson, ON; Charles Scott, ON;  Dr. Frederic L.R. Jackman, ON; Murray Kilfoyle, MB; Dr. Peter Stoicheff, SK; Richard Homburg, NS; and Sean Finn, QC.