Home Company members announced for The 2024 Charlottetown Festival

Company members announced for The 2024 Charlottetown Festival

– Select Festival tickets on sale to celebrate Islander Day –

Several Islanders and familiar faces will star in the legendary shows Anne of Green Gables–The Musical™ and Jersey Boys at The 2024 Charlottetown Festival. Playing at Sobey Family Theatre, the Centre’s main stage, the productions are cross-cast – meaning most company members appear in both productions.

After performing the hit show The Songs of Johnny & June at The 2023 Charlottetown Festival, Islanders Jacob Hemphill and Melissa MacKenzie will return in main stage roles this summer. Hemphill is set to take on the part of Nick Massi in Jersey Boys, a member of the famed group The Four Seasons.

Anne of Green Gables–The Musical™ will feature Island talent Marlene Handrahan playing Marilla Cuthbert, Catherine O’Brien as Rachel Lynde, and Shawna van Omme returning for her fourteenth Festival season.

Other Island-based company members include Sarah Bell, Jessica Burrett, and Kristen Pottle.

“We are proud to continually feature Island talent on our stages alongside artists from across the country,” says Adam Brazier, the Centre’s artistic director of performing arts. “There is a lot of excitement around the Festival lineup, and we are looking forward to another great summer in Charlottetown.”

The Centre previously announced that actors Kelsey Verzotti and Laurie Murdoch, who played Anne Shirley and Matthew Cuthbert in the 2022 Festival production of Anne of Green Gables–The Musical™, will reprise their roles this summer.

They will be joined by fellow Festival alumni Alex Batycki, Lyndsey Britten, Andrew McAllister, Trevor Patt, Shakeil Rollock, Brian Ross, and Emma Rudy.

New Festival company members Tyler Check and Aaron MacKenzie will take on the roles of Tommy DeVito and Frankie Valli in Jersey Boys, with Festival alumnus Trevor Patt rounding out The Four Seasons as Bob Gaudio.

Other company members making their Festival debut include Vinnie Alberto, Malinda Carroll, Celeste Catena, Kaleigh Gorka, Amelia Hironaka, and Ha’Keena Maneso.

Sponsored by CAA Atlantic, performances of Anne of Green Gables–The Musical™ run from June 19 – August 31.

Sponsored by Tim Hortons, performances of Jersey Boys run from June 25 – September 21.

To celebrate Islander Day, patrons can get 40% off tickets (Tiers 2/3) for both shows when purchased between Thursday, February 15 – Saturday, February 17. Tickets are available through the Centre’s box office, via phone at 1-800-565-0278, or online with the code ‘Islander24’. This discount is valid on new purchases and does not apply to opening night or preview performances, or youth tickets.

Visit confederationcentre.com for more information.


Photo: Top L-R: Melissa MacKenzie, Jacob Hemphill. Bottom L-R: Shawna van Omme, Marlene Handrahan

Media Contact:
Emily McMahon, Communications Manager, Confederation Centre of the Arts
[email protected] | 902-628-6135


Vinnie Alberto: Gilbert Blythe
Alex Batycki: Charlie Sloane
Sarah Bell: Mrs. Barry / Mrs. Blewett
Lyndsey Britten: Gertie Pye
Jessica Burrett: Prissy Andrews
Malinda Carroll: Mrs. Pye
Celeste Catena: Josie Pye
Tyler Check: Mr. Phillips
Kaleigh Gorka: Miss Stacey / Mrs. MacPherson
Marlene Handrahan: Marilla Cuthbert
Jacob Hemphill: Minister
Amelia Hironaka: Ruby Gillis
Aaron MacKenzie: Cecil the Farmer
Melissa MacKenzie: Lucilla / Mrs. Gilllis
Ha’Keena Maneso: Tillie Boulter
Andrew McAllister: Earl / Stationmaster
Laurie Murdoch: Matthew Cuthbert
Catherine O’Brien: Rachel Lynde
Trevor Patt: Moody MacPherson
Kristen Pottle: Swing / Dance Captain
Shakeil Rollock: Willie Boulter
Brian Ross: Tommy Sloane
Emma Rudy: Diana Barry
Shawna van Omme: Mrs. Spencer / Mrs. Sloane
Kelsey Verzotti: Anne Shirley

Director / Choreographer: Robin Calvert
Music Director: Rachel O’Brien
Set & Costume Designer: Cory Sincennes
Lighting Designer: Renée Brode
Sound Designer: Brian Kenny
Associate Director / Choreographer: Kristen Pottle
Associate Music Director: Douglas Price
Stage Manager: Lani Martel
Assistant Stage Manager: Melissa Cameron
Assistant Stage Manager: Christine Oakey
Rehearsal Assistant Stage Manager: Katerina Sokyrko
Production Assistant: Tiffany Lam


Vinnie Alberto: Ensemble
Alex Batycki: Ensemble
Sarah Bell: Frankie’s Mom / Ensemble
Lyndsey Britten: Ensemble
Jessica Burrett: Ensemble / Dance Captain
Celeste Catena: Ensemble
Tyler Check: Tommy DeVito
Kaleigh Gorka: Mary Delgado / Ensemble
Jacob Hemphill: Nick Massi
Amelia Hironaka: Ensemble
Aaron MacKenzie: Frankie Valli
Melissa MacKenzie: Lorraine / Ensemble
Ha’Keena Maneso: Ensemble
Andrew McAllister: Bob Crewe / Donnie
Laurie Murdoch: Gyp de Carlo / Ensemble
Trevor Patt: Bob Gaudio
Shakeil Rollock: Ensemble
Brian Ross: Ensemble
Emma Rudy: Francine

Director: Adam Brazier
Music Director: Bob Foster
Choreographer: Dawn Ward-Dames
Set & Costume Designer: William Layton
Lighting Designer: Renée Brode
Sound Designer: Emily Porter
Associate Music Director: Rachel O’Brien
Associate Music Director: Douglas Price
Stage Manager: Christine Oakey
Assistant Stage Manager: Melissa Cameron
Assistant Stage Manager: Lani Martel
Rehearsal Assistant Stage Manager: Katerina Sokyrko
Production Assistant: Tiffany Lam