Le Centre pour tous les Canadiens

The Centre’s response to COVID-19 | Réaction du Centre à la COVID-19

Buy Tickets
Certains jours de la semaine

Dear Rita

| Le Théâtre Mack
En première mondiale, une nouvelle production intime et inspirante qui célèbre la vie et les chansons d’une des auteures-compositrices-interprètes les plus populaires des Maritimes, Rita MacNeil.
Buy Tickets

Billets à partir de 32 $ plus taxes et frais
June 25 & 26

Développée en étroite collaboration avec la famille de la défunte chanteuse elle-même, Dear Rita et une lettre d’amour musicale à une icône de la culture canadienne, une artiste ardente et passionnée dont les chansons ont été des grands succès internationaux, source d’inspiration pour les gens du monde entier.

Ce spectacle musical de style cabaret qui est tissé autour d’un texte écrit par les Insulaires Mike Ross et Lindsay Kyte met en vedette une troupe de cinq artistes et sera présenté du 25 juin au 25 septembre.

« La contribution de Rita MacNeil au Canada atlantique est incommensurable. Ses chansons ont inspiré des générations de Canadiens et nous sommes emballés à l’idée de présenter l’histoire de sa vie et la musique iconique qu’elle a créée, » a commenté Adam Brazier, le directeur artistique du Centre.

DEAR RITA comprend des arrangements originaux et réinventés de chansons de Rita – de ses grands succès à ses chansons moins connues qui ont fait pleurer ses musiciens – présentant ses paroles dans une perspective nouvelle et invitant son esprit et ses histoires dans la salle.

La force de Rita MacNeil était de raconter dans ses chansons des histoires dans lesquelles elle nous invitait à nus voir nous-mêmes dans ses luttes, sa vigueur et sa vulnérabilité. Comment Rita réussissait-elle à raconter « mon » histoire, quel que soit notre identité, notre emplacement, notre âge ou notre état d’esprit? Comment réussissait-elle à capter un tel sentiment de parler directement à chaque personne, un sens de la communauté et de la conversation, la fantaisie d’un rêve d’amour et les racines des travailleurs? Comme elle le disait elle-même, l’histoire de sa propre vie était en quelque sorte celle de tout le monde. C’est celle d’une personne, mais tant de nous pourraient y être.

La dramaturge du Cap-Breton Lindsay Kyte a collaboré avec la compositeur et musicien lauréat Mike Ross pour créer DEAR RITA.

Comment le spectacle a-t-il vu le jour? La pièce lauréate de Lindsay Kyte, Tompkinsville, qui racontait l’histoire de la lutte des mineurs du Cap-Breton pour devenir maîtres de leur propre destinée grâce au mouvement coopératif, mettait en vedette le guitariste Chris Corrigan. Corrigan était aussi le producteur et le guitariste de Rita et pendant quelques années faisait tournée avec Rita et la pièce de Kyte.

Après le décès de Rita, Wade Langham, son fils, a dit à Corrigan qu’il voulait un spectacle pour rendre hommage au catalogue de 300 chansons de sa mère, un spectacle qui présenterait les paroles poignantes à un nouveau public grâce à des arrangements réinventés. Corrigan a présenté Lindsay Kyte à Langham et, ensemble ils ont discuté du spectacle prenant le thé le dernier jour d’ouverture du salon de thé Rita’s Tea Room. Kyte a abordé le Festival de Charlottetown qui l’a mis en contact avec Mike Ross, apprécié dans tout le pays pour son talent incomparable pour créer des compositions musicales qui révèlent les couleurs et les textures des paroles. Kyte et Ross avaient commencé leurs carrières ensemble, à l’Î.-P.-É., de nombreuses années plus tôt et étaient enchantés d’avoir l’occasion de travailler ensemble une fois de plus.

Newsletter Signup

HOURS OF OPERATION 

Art Gallery

Wednesday – Saturday 11 a.m. – 5 p.m. | Sunday 1 p.m. – 5 p.m.

Box Office

Monday – Friday 12 p.m. – 5 p.m. | Saturday and Sunday  Closed 

Evening Performances: The Box Office opens 2.5 hours prior to each performance.

Please call 1.800.565.0278 or 902.566.1267 for information.

Showcase Gift Shop

Monday – Saturday 10 a.m. – 5 p.m.  |  Sunday Closed

Please call 902.628.6149 for information.

The Story of Confederation 

Saturday 10 a.m. – 3 p.m.


Toutes nos excuses. La version française de notre site Web est présentement en construction.

Hours of Operation


Art Gallery

Wednesday to Saturday 11a.m .-  5 p.m  |  Sunday 1p.m. – 5 p.m.  |  Monday and Tuesday Closed
Holiday Hours: Closed December 25 – January 1


Box Office

Monday – Saturday 10 a.m. – 8 p.m.  | Sunday Closed

Evening Performances: The Box Office opens 2.5 hours prior to each performance. Please call 1.800.565.0278 or 902.566.1267 for information.

Mavor’s Restaurant

Monday – Thursday 11 a.m. – 9 p.m.  |  Friday – Saturday  11 a.m. – 11 p.m.  |  Sunday Closed
Please call 902.628.6107 for information.

Showcase Gift Shop

Monday – Saturday 10 a.m. – 5 p.m. |   Sunday Closed
Please call 902.628.6149 for information.

The Story of Confederation 

Monday – Saturday 10 a.m. – 3 p.m. |   Sunday Closed

  • I agree to receive further communications from Confederation Centre of the Arts for upcoming events, promotions and market research purposes.

The Centre for All Canadians
Buy Tickets
Plays select dates

Dear Rita

| The Mack
Making its world premiere in 2020 is an intimate and inspiring new production celebrating the life and songs of the Maritimes’ most beloved singer-songwriter, Rita MacNeil
Buy Tickets

Tickets from $32 plus taxes & fees
June 25 & 26

Developed closely with the family of the late singer herself, Dear Rita is a musical love-letter to a true fixture of Canadian culture, a fierce and passionate performer whose songs were international hits, inspiring people around the world.

Woven around a script from the Island’s own Mike Ross and Lindsay Kyte, this cabaret musical will feature a cast of five and play June 25 through September 25 in the cabaret theatre.

“Rita MacNeil’s contribution to Atlantic Canada is immeasurable. Her songs have inspired generations of Canadians and we are excited to share stories of her life and the iconic music she created,” says Artistic Director Adam Brazier.

Featuring traditional and new, re-imagined arrangements of Rita’s songs — from her popular hits to the lesser-known songs that made her bandmates cry like babies — DEAR RITA weaves Rita’s lyrics into new perspectives and invites her spirit into the room as her songs live through our own experiences.

Rita MacNeil was a fierce force of storytelling through song who invited us to see ourselves in her struggles, strength, and vulnerability. How did Rita somehow tell “my” story—no matter your identity, location, age, or current mood? How did she capture such a feeling of speaking directly to each person, a sense of community and conversation, the whimsy of a dream of love and the roots of the working people? In her own words, Rita said her own life story is “something you could pretty well put anyone into. It’s about one person, but so many of us could be there.”

Cape Breton playwright Lindsay Kyte teams up with award-winning composer/musician Mike Ross to create DEAR RITA.

How did this come about? Lindsay Kyte’s play Tompkinsville, which won awards for its musical telling of the story of Cape Breton miners’ quest to become masters of their own destiny through the co-operative movement, featured guitar player Chris Corrigan. Corrigan was also Rita’s producer and guitar player and was touring with both Rita and Kyte’s play for some years.

After Rita’s passing, Wade Langham, Rita’s son, told Corrigan he wanted a show to honour his mother’s catalogue of 300 songs, one that brought these poignant lyrics to new audiences through re-imagined arrangements. Corrigan connected the two, and soon Kyte and Langham were discussing this show over tea on the last day Rita’s Tea Room would ever be open. Kyte approached the Charlottetown Festival, who connected her with Mike Ross, revered nationwide for his incomparable talent in creating musical compositions that reveal the colours and textures of the lyrics. Kyte and Ross also began their careers together in PEI many years ago, and were thrilled to have the opportunity to work together again.

Newsletter Signup

HOURS OF OPERATION 


Art Gallery

Open daily from 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.

Box Office

Monday – Saturday 10 a.m. – 5 p.m.  |  Sunday Closed

Evening Performances: The Box Office opens 2.5 hours prior to each performance.

Please call 1.800.565.0278 or 902.566.1267 for information.

Mavor’s Restaurant

Monday – Wednesday 11a.m. – 9 p.m.
Thursday – Saturday 11a.m. – 11p.m.
Sunday Closed

Please call 902.628.6107 for information.

Showcase Gift Shop

Monday – Saturday 10 a.m. – 5 p.m.  |  Sunday Closed
Please call 902.628.6149 for information.

The Story of Confederation 

Monday – Saturday 10 a.m. – 3 p.m.  |  Sunday Closed


Toutes nos excuses. La version française de notre site Web est présentement en construction.

Hours of Operation


Art Gallery

Wednesday to Saturday 11a.m .-  5 p.m  |  Sunday 1p.m. – 5 p.m.  |  Monday and Tuesday Closed


Box Office

Monday – Saturday 10 a.m. – 8 p.m.  | Sunday Closed

Evening Performances: The Box Office opens 2.5 hours prior to each performance. Please call 1.800.565.0278 or 902.566.1267 for information.

Mavor’s Restaurant

Monday – Thursday 11 a.m. – 9 p.m.  |  Friday – Saturday  11 a.m. – 11 p.m.  |  Sunday Closed
Please call 902.628.6107 for information.

Showcase Gift Shop

Monday – Saturday 10 a.m. – 5 p.m. |   Sunday Closed
Please call 902.628.6149 for information.

The Story of Confederation 

Monday – Saturday 10 a.m. – 3 p.m. |   Sunday Closed

  • I agree to receive further communications from Confederation Centre of the Arts for upcoming events, promotions and market research purposes.